30
Apr
10

in pursuit of the juiciest wine: day two

Red GuitarAnd the tour began with a textbook POP as the cork was released from a bottle of Red Guitar Old Vine Tempranillo Garnacha 2007 from Navarra, Spain. It’s a blend of 55% Tempranillo and 45% Garnacha, and I think those are some of the juiciest grapes around. I shall see if this is true in Red Guitar, too.

Tonight is also the last night that my girlfriend and I will eat out or order out food for a month. I think tonight we will order out some Chinese food. But for now, it’s off to the tasting.

This wine is slightly transparent when held up to a white wall. It smells juicy and of alcohol . . .  lots of alcohol. A hint of pepper, too.  Oddly, it also has a hint of vomit in the nose, but it’s not unpleasant because there are some dark plums blooming in the background along with some sour cherries. The more I swirl in air, the more the plums and cherries surface and the vomit disappears.

I got this wine for a few reasons. I haven’t had it, it’s from Spain, it’s a Tempranillo and Garnacha blend, and it has a red guitar on the label. This added up to the embodiment of Spain to me, and I expected to taste a little bit of Federico Garcia Lorca in it. I just didn’t expect it to be Lorca’s poem “Landscape of a Vomiting Multitude.”

Okay. It’s been open for about a half-hour, and I’ve been swirling for about 10 minutes. The vomit is gone, or I’ve become accustomed to it. So here goes the first sip.

It’s quite smooth. It has a round body. On the front of the tongue, it’s juicy. On the back, it’s sour . . . sour cherries. I don’t taste the vomit. I do taste cloves and maybe nutmeg. Some type of spicy berry, as well.

It’s a bit juicy, but not juicy enough for this tour. I still like this wine somewhat. It is a good accompaniment to the saxophonist playing outside in the 75-degree calm evening on Main Street, Brockport.

It’s getting better and better as it opens, but it doesn’t open enough. I’d get Red Guitar again, maybe, but only because of the price.//


0 Responses to “in pursuit of the juiciest wine: day two”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

The Cave (Winner of The Bitter Oleander Press Library of Poetry Book Award for 2013.)

The Cave

Poems for an Empty Church

Poems for an Empty Church

The Oldest Stone in the World

The Oldest Stone in the Wolrd

Henri, Sophie, & The Hieratic Head of Ezra Pound: Poems Blasted from the Vortex

Henri, Sophie, & The Hieratic Head of Ezra Pound: Poems Blasted from the Vortex

Pre-Dew Poems

Pre-Dew Poems

Negative Time

Negative Time

After Malagueña

After Malagueña

Enter your email address to subscribe to The Line Break and receive email notifications of new posts.

Join 2,830 other followers

April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Archives

The Line Break Tweets


