01
May
10

in pursuit of the juiciest wine: day three

Happy May Day, everyone. This day always reminds me of one of my favorite poems – Allen Ginsberg’s “Kral Majales” (turn up the volume). For the best reading of “Kral Majales” listen to me read it or listen to the version on The Lion for Real. (That’s one of my most favorite albums.)

Back to the tour . . . .

Lan Rioja Reserva 2004Last night I wanted to get off to a good start with this tour, and I was too kind to the Red Guitar. I wanted it to be good, but it was eh. Some one of more expertise would have rated it an 85. I never drink anything below an 88. From now on, I’ll be more direct. I’ll cast aside hopes and just taste.

Today’s wine is the Lan Rioja Reserva 2004. It smells like a cab. It smells deep, dark, and dry. It has some leather. (My girlfriend picked up on that. She has the best nose of anyone I know. Plus, she’s just wonderful.) In the center of the odor is a juicy plum waiting to be bitten into and have it’s juice drool down the side of my chin. There’s a hint of smoke on the periphery, too.

Right away, I taste raspberries. It’s delicious and smooth, and it’s very dry. It’s so dry, especially when I swirl it around my gums. It’s dry on the finish, too.

It’s not very juicy. Where’d that plum go? Sigh. But damn, it’s good.

Is that cinnamon somewhere?

It’s definitely earthy, and it has some rosemary. It would probably go real good with lamb.

I do think it needs some more time to open up.

If I were to guess, I would think this is a cab. When I bought it, I assumed it was a Tempranillo. . . . I just did a Google search, and it is a Tempranillo, and it was #52 on the Wine Spectator’s top 100 wines of the year. I don’t know for which year, though.

It would also go good with bread dipped in olive oil or olive oil and balsamic vinegar. Man, I have to get to F. Oliver’s.

I’m digging this wine. I hope it wasn’t expensive because I want to get it again. I like how it soaks in under the gums.

It definitely needs food to counter the tannins, so I’m off to eat and drink this lovely wine.//


0 Responses to “in pursuit of the juiciest wine: day three”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

The Cave (Winner of The Bitter Oleander Press Library of Poetry Book Award for 2013.)

The Cave

Poems for an Empty Church

Poems for an Empty Church

The Oldest Stone in the World

The Oldest Stone in the Wolrd

Henri, Sophie, & The Hieratic Head of Ezra Pound: Poems Blasted from the Vortex

Henri, Sophie, & The Hieratic Head of Ezra Pound: Poems Blasted from the Vortex

Pre-Dew Poems

Pre-Dew Poems

Negative Time

Negative Time

After Malagueña

After Malagueña

Enter your email address to subscribe to The Line Break and receive email notifications of new posts.

Join 2,735 other followers

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Archives

The Line Break Tweets


