03
May
10

in pursuit of the juiciest wine: day five

Domaine de L'Ameillaud Cotes du Rhone 2007I was just going over submissions to Redactions: Poetry & Poetics, but I decided to take a break. Now I need to try the Domaine de L’Ameillaud Cotes du Rhone 2007, which the guy at Marketview Liquors assured me is a juicy wine.

This will be quick as dinner is almost ready. My girlfriend is making a pasta for this cool and breezy evening. Last night at this time, the sky was gray and humid, but tonight it is blue with only a scant cloud or two. The sun will set soon, too, and maybe it already has, but I’m looking east.

So, I hold the glass of wine up to that blue sky, and I can’t see a thing except the dark ruby Rhone. I lower the glass to my nose to smell what it’s about. Its dark and impentrable nose is what it’s about, and it perfectly complements that dark ruby hue.

And now for the tasting. Please let it be juicy.

Hm. It’s quite spicy, especially after letting it sit on the palate for a few moments. It is peppery and thick. Earthy, too. A bit sticky.

There’s nothing special about this wine so far, nor is there anything dissatisfying with this wine either. However, it is enjoyable.

[A few moments go by.]

Its juiciness is coming through now in a jammy way, so maybe it will open up in another hour.

That’s what I like about American and Australian wines, they are made to be open and drunk right away. I’m all about letting a wine sit to open up, and usually I do. I get home from work, open a bottle, walk the dog, do a few things, and then start tasting, but tonight, even though I’m at ease and in a good mood, I don’t feel like waiting, which isn’t fair to the wine.

But like I said, it is opening into a dark-berried, spciy jamminess. Perhaps I’ll have an update later. Perhaps, in fact, I shall wait. Dinner isn’t even close to being done.

[A number of moments go by. About one hour since opening the bottle.]

Oh yeah. This opened up well, and it’s still opening. Definitely juicy and still a lingering spice.  Even though I want something juicier, this will work.

My girlfriend has just given it a go. She gets barley in the nose.

Juicy, jammy, and spicy with a tannic finish. Mmmm mmm. Good stuff this Domaine de L’Ameillaud Cotes du Rhone 2007.//


0 Responses to “in pursuit of the juiciest wine: day five”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

The Cave (Winner of The Bitter Oleander Press Library of Poetry Book Award for 2013.)

The Cave

Poems for an Empty Church

Poems for an Empty Church

The Oldest Stone in the World

The Oldest Stone in the Wolrd

Henri, Sophie, & The Hieratic Head of Ezra Pound: Poems Blasted from the Vortex

Henri, Sophie, & The Hieratic Head of Ezra Pound: Poems Blasted from the Vortex

Pre-Dew Poems

Pre-Dew Poems

Negative Time

Negative Time

After Malagueña

After Malagueña

Enter your email address to subscribe to The Line Break and receive email notifications of new posts.

Join 2,736 other followers

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Archives

The Line Break Tweets


