14
May
10

in pursuit of the juiciest wine: day eight

Chateau de Paraza Minervois 2007Today I received a royalty check from my publisher for the Amazon sales of Henri, Sophie, & The Hieratic Head of Ezra Pound: Poems Blasted from the Vortex, and I am happy. At the same time, I can’t wait until I get another one from what was sold through the distributor. The Po Biz ain’t very profitable, but I’ll take what ever I can.

A tip to you poets who have just had their first book released. It’s a tip I learned from a number of authors and that I have experience with. Buy as many author-discounted copies of your book as you can. If you win a prize, exchange the prize money for copies. Why? Two reasons. One, most likely there will only be one print run of your book, so make sure you have enough to get you through the rest of your life. Two, you are going to make more money from the books you sell at your readings than from your sales through Amazon and the wonderful local book store.  (Support your local book store!) Maybe later when you have a larger audience, you won’t have to do that, but for now, hoard!

I don’t know what I’ll do with my new meagre and fortunate fortune, but tonight I will be trying Chateau de Paraza Minervois 2007. The Wine Advocate gave it 90 points, and most important, it said the wine had a “lip-smacking juiciness.” I’m sold.

I also really need a drink. So allons-y.

It smells lovely. Flowery. Juicy like it might ooze all over my mouth. It shouldn’t be very tannic. It also has a nose of not quite ripe strawberries. That makes sense since it has a young and virginal feel about it. Not that the wine hasn’t matured. It has. But the feeling is of innocence. However, I am very mature, so I will drink it. (That’s the best part about being grown up – you can drink whenever, and no one can say no. Ha!)

The innocence held up amid some strawberry jelly. It’s a light body, but with no holes. It’s complete in its lightness. Yeah, I keep getting images of smuckers jelly. It’s all wobbly wubbily. Jiggily flopsy. And curvy wurvy.

Oddly, it has a salty finish like tamari. (Thanks, my wonderful girlfriend, for picking up on that. Oh, you do love salt.)

I need a little food, now. My mouth is dry. I’ll have a little piece of cheese to draw out this juiciness. The Baby Bell cheese kinda overpowered the wine, but I drank the wine away, and this wine opened up. It is in fact, quite juicy, but it needs a bigger body to make the juiciness more enjoyable. It also needs food to sustain the juiciness, so I’m off to eat and drink this  wiggly waggly wine.//


Leave a Reply

The Cave (Winner of The Bitter Oleander Press Library of Poetry Book Award for 2013.)

The Cave

Poems for an Empty Church

Poems for an Empty Church

The Oldest Stone in the World

The Oldest Stone in the Wolrd

Henri, Sophie, & The Hieratic Head of Ezra Pound: Poems Blasted from the Vortex

Henri, Sophie, & The Hieratic Head of Ezra Pound: Poems Blasted from the Vortex

Pre-Dew Poems

Pre-Dew Poems

Negative Time

Negative Time

After Malagueña

After Malagueña

Enter your email address to subscribe to The Line Break and receive email notifications of new posts.

Join 2,736 other followers

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Archives

The Line Break Tweets


