29
May
10

in pursuit of the juiciest wine: day thirteen

Day thirteen of the tour and I’m reminded Marietta Cellars Old Vine Red Lot Number 51of Dr. Who. There are supposed to be thirteen regenerations of Dr. Who. As we know, however, the tenth doctor, David Tenant, had two regenerations. He once regenerated into himself. And like Dr. Who, the Juiciest Wine Tour also had a repeat with the Chateau de Paraza Minervois 2007. So maybe this is only day twelve. Maybe it won’t be unlucky. Maybe Marietta Cellars Old Vine Red Lot Number 51 will be good. Let’s find out. Allons-y.

The back label says it is “predominantly comprised of Zinfandel.”

The wine looks young. It’s got a big clear meniscus where the surface of the wine meets the side of the glass. The color looks zinny.

It’s got a slightly spicy nose. It smells earthy. When I smell it, I think of the paleolithic painters who painted the bisons and ibexes  in a cave in Altamira. (By the way, the plural is “ibexes” or “ibices.”)

Oh, man. This is jammy. Lots of fruits and berries that I didn’t expect. I think I got some green apples, too. Definitely some cherries, and in the background some juicy plums. I envision those same paleolithic painters dancing with the shadows cast from a fire made from animal fat. I imagine some type of singing, as well. I imagine the fire, shadows, and singing animate the images of the bisons, ibexes, reindeer, boars, and horses. I imagine an underground party. I want to give them this wine. I want to party with them. I want to dance. I want my head bobbing up and down while I strut in a circular path inside the cave. I want my footprints in the dirt to last as long as the images on the walls. I want to play tunes on a flute made from a woolly mammoth’s tusk. I want Dr. Who’s TARDIS. . . .

This will go good with pasta and the summer squash, green peppers, mushrooms, and chick peas sautéed in Felix Oliver’s 18-year-old special reserve balsamic vinegar and a Tuscan Garden (oregano, rosemary, sage, and garlic) extra virgin olive oil. . . . And it was. Yum.//


0 Responses to “in pursuit of the juiciest wine: day thirteen”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

The Cave (Winner of The Bitter Oleander Press Library of Poetry Book Award for 2013.)

The Cave

Poems for an Empty Church

Poems for an Empty Church

The Oldest Stone in the World

The Oldest Stone in the Wolrd

Henri, Sophie, & The Hieratic Head of Ezra Pound: Poems Blasted from the Vortex

Henri, Sophie, & The Hieratic Head of Ezra Pound: Poems Blasted from the Vortex

Pre-Dew Poems

Pre-Dew Poems

Negative Time

Negative Time

After Malagueña

After Malagueña

Enter your email address to subscribe to The Line Break and receive email notifications of new posts.

Join 2,808 other followers

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Archives

The Line Break Tweets


