30
Jun
10

in pursuit of the juiciest wine: day twenty-six

Egervin Egri Bikavér Bulls Blood 2005

The wine of strength and virility.

I got this bottle of Egervin Egri Bikavér 2005 strictly for the label. The red label with BULLS BLOOD and the picture of a bull weren’t the only selling point. It’s from Hungary. After drinking this Bull’s Blood, I’d better be stronger and more virile. I’m hoping it acts on me like spinach acts on Popeye.

“Egri Biakvér” translates into “Eger Bull’s Blood.” The translation makes me appreciate the missing apostrophe. It’s another selling point.

Eger is the name of the hills in Hungary from where this wine is born.  It’s “origin goes back to the seventeenth century,” so says the back label, which also says “To appreciate EGRI BIAKÉR at its best, open at least one hour before drinking and serve at room temperature.” Alright. I’ll be back in an hour. I know exactly what to expect, and I can barely wait.

In my waiting, I translated (used the Google translator) “védett eredetũ száraz, vörös bor controlled appellation of origin” and got this “of protected dry red wine with controlled appellation of origin.”  That’s nothing special, but I’ve got an hour to kill.

This is what I expect. I expect to taste Hungary in all its harshness. That’s what is known as terroir, pronounced te wah. (Listen to i here: http://www.wine-lovers-page.com/audio/lexicon/terr.mp3.) (Here’s a good piece about terroir: http://www.reference.com/browse/terroir.)

Gypsy ViolinistI also expect to think of gypsies. I like gypsies. They seem to be the embodiment of living, at least to me.

Well, it’s been over an hour-and-a-half, so menjünk.

Bull’s Blood has a dark and musky nose.  It smells like the other side of the forest where the mushrooms grow and the trees decay. It’s much lighter in body than I thought, and it tastes just like I thought. It’s like a Baco Noir, which some people like, but, not to me. I expected this, and it was fun. I feel virile and strong.

Unfortunately, I won’t be finishing this, which is ok. I think it will be a good wine for some. //


2 Responses to “in pursuit of the juiciest wine: day twenty-six”


  1. July 8, 2010 at 6:57 am

    Hi there,
    Sorry to say, but you probably picked the poorest example of Bulls Blood. The Egervin company is a mass producer which IMO has little to do with the real Egri Bikaver (Bika is Bull and ver is blood).
    I recommend the Aldas or Merengo from St. Andrea, or Bikaver from Thummerer or Grof Buttler. Expect to pay around Euro 10 or more, otherwise leave it on the (bottom) shelf.
    Perhaps also interesting to check Bikaver from Szekszard region? They are also allowed to use the Bikaver name and there are some good examples: eg. Sebestyen or Takler.
    Enjoy!
    Elwin


Leave a Reply

The Cave (Winner of The Bitter Oleander Press Library of Poetry Book Award for 2013.)

The Cave

Poems for an Empty Church

Poems for an Empty Church

The Oldest Stone in the World

The Oldest Stone in the Wolrd

Henri, Sophie, & The Hieratic Head of Ezra Pound: Poems Blasted from the Vortex

Henri, Sophie, & The Hieratic Head of Ezra Pound: Poems Blasted from the Vortex

Pre-Dew Poems

Pre-Dew Poems

Negative Time

Negative Time

After Malagueña

After Malagueña

Enter your email address to subscribe to The Line Break and receive email notifications of new posts.

Join 2,813 other followers

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Archives

The Line Break Tweets


