14
Jul
10

in pursuit of the juiciest wine: day thirty

It’s been too hot to drink wine, especially to drink and discuss it. I even had to put a few bottles of red wine in the fridge to cool them down, but that made the wines too tart. So today is more bearable for wine drinking. However, today one of my full-length poetry manuscripts got rejected again. It’s been rejected at least 38 times in all of its manifestations, but this rejection was special. I sent out my manuscript at exactly 8:00 p.m. yesterday, and I received the rejection today at 2:55 p.m. That’s 18 hours and 55 minutes from submission to rejection. Crazy.

So now I’m having a contest. I’ve asked people, and now you, to read my manuscript and to write the most scathing review possible. The winning review will be posted here. So, if you want a copy let me know in the comments or email me, and I’ll send you a copy. Reviews need to be in by September 15.

Cupcake Vineyards Petite Sirah 2007To celebrate my 503rd rejection, I will drink Cupcake Vineyards Petite Sirah 2007. I have been hearing good things about Cupcake, so here’s hoping what I heard is right.

By the way, “Petites are anything but petite – they tend to be big, strong, muscular, and, well, purple” (Lisa Shea, http://wineintro.com/types/petitsirah.html).

The Cupcake Vineyards Petite Sirah 2007 has a dark, dark purple color with a thin, three-layered meniscus: dark purple on the bottom, a purple-pink in the middle, and clear on top. That’s interesting. Maybe it is cupcake! You know, the cupcake, the filling, and the icing. Mmm. Mm.

On the nose I pick up leather, dark berries, blue berries, cherries really deep in, earthiness, and oak. My girlfriend also picks up crayons. This should be fun.

It has a slightly bitter finish, but that could be because it’s still a little warm in the apartment. In fact, a half hour later, it has dissipated quite a bit.

It tastes thinner than it looks, but it’s not thin. It has a medium-big body. If I were to guess, I’d say this wine came from Australia, but it comes from the Central Coast of California.

Hostess CupcakeIt’s fairly mild in flavors and is smooth. It’s not that exciting to me except for what tastes like the melted chocolate frosting on a Hostess cupcake.

For $8, I’d get it again . . . mmm, maybe. Or maybe I should let it go another year.  Maybe that’s what it needs. Another. See ya soon, Cupcake.//


0 Responses to “in pursuit of the juiciest wine: day thirty”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

The Cave (Winner of The Bitter Oleander Press Library of Poetry Book Award for 2013.)

The Cave

Poems for an Empty Church

Poems for an Empty Church

The Oldest Stone in the World

The Oldest Stone in the Wolrd

Henri, Sophie, & The Hieratic Head of Ezra Pound: Poems Blasted from the Vortex

Henri, Sophie, & The Hieratic Head of Ezra Pound: Poems Blasted from the Vortex

Pre-Dew Poems

Pre-Dew Poems

Negative Time

Negative Time

After Malagueña

After Malagueña

Enter your email address to subscribe to The Line Break and receive email notifications of new posts.

Join 2,735 other followers

July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Archives

The Line Break Tweets


