14
Aug
10

in pursuit of the juiciest wine: day thirty-eight

Ryan Vineyards Calera Pinot Noir 2005I’ve been away for nine days. My mouse feels very odd and my chair unfamiliar. But anything feels better after 11 hours on the road from Dixfield, ME, (“The only one”) to Brockport, NY. Next year I will plan better because there was quite the side-walk festivities in Woodstock, VT, a wonderful town that everyone should visit, and arts-and-crafts festivities a half-hour away in Rutland, VT. My girlfriend and I wanted to go to both, but, alas, we wanted to get home more. So, next year we will plan an extra day of travel so we can attend one or both of those events.

So, after 11 hours of driving, and now entering my last real day of vacation, I will be drinking Ryan Vineyards Calera Pinot Noir 2005 Thirtieth Anniversary Vintage. Normally a $50 bottle of wine, but I got it on sale for $25 at Mahan’s about six or 12 months ago. Yay Mahan’s!

My mouth is dry, but here it goes. Allons-y.

A beautiful full nose of cherries and RC Cola. Some plums and maybe some green apples. It smells like it has a full body – a full body of hugs. The body is bigger than I expect from a Pinot Noir, it’s almost like a Merlot body, and I love it. (My girlfriend gets cooked potatoes on the nose, and I agree, and she also gets vegetable soup, and I kind of agree, at least if it’s a red broth vegetable soup.)

Anyway, this Pinot Noir is  juicy with berries, black cherries, and plums. I can just swirl my tongue around in this happiness.

There’s also a bit of tartness lingering around on the front and middle of the tongue, and this tartness is enjoyable.

Then there’s the spicy finish that vanishes quickly. Oh, so lovely. So delicious. I need to quote William Carlos Williams:

This Is Just To Say

I have eaten
the plums
that were in
the icebox

and which
you were probably
saving
for breakfast

Forgive me
they were delicious
so sweet
and so cold

That’s how I feel about this wine.

And now, after six hours of sleep, 11 hours of driving, a half-hour of typing this, and a glass of wine, I feel buzzed or very tired or both. But I’m gonna have another glass [*big smiles*].//


Leave a Reply

The Cave (Winner of The Bitter Oleander Press Library of Poetry Book Award for 2013.)

The Cave

Poems for an Empty Church

Poems for an Empty Church

The Oldest Stone in the World

The Oldest Stone in the Wolrd

Henri, Sophie, & The Hieratic Head of Ezra Pound: Poems Blasted from the Vortex

Henri, Sophie, & The Hieratic Head of Ezra Pound: Poems Blasted from the Vortex

Pre-Dew Poems

Pre-Dew Poems

Negative Time

Negative Time

After Malagueña

After Malagueña

Enter your email address to subscribe to The Line Break and receive email notifications of new posts.

Join 2,813 other followers

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Archives

The Line Break Tweets


