28
Aug
10

in pursuit of the juiciest wine: day forty-four

I’m taking a break from designing the cover for Redactions: Poetry & Poetics issue 13 with the wonderful guest editor Sarah Freligh, author of Sort of Gone. She wrote baseball poems!

Justin Cabernet Sauvignon 2007Tonight’s wine on the Californian Cabernet Sauvignon mini tour is Justin Cabernet Sauvignon 2007 from Paso Robles. I’ve had previous vintages of this vineyard, and it’s typically very good. Actually, what I usually have, and I just realized this while looking for images of the wine, is the Isosceles. Now, that is some good wine.

I just looked at this wine and wished I had a decanter. Sigh. I don’t have one, so I did something bizarre and hopefully smart. I poured the glass of wine into another glass and then back again. And I did that like 10 or 12 times to get some air in there quick so it would open. I seem to remember this wine needing some air. So I hope this worked.

Plus, by now, it’s been open for about 40 minutes.

It’s a very dark purple color. The meniscus is short. And it has legs that keep appearing from nowhere. So, yeah, it’s a cab with some alcohol. Yay.

That’s a big, earthy, dark nose. A nose of blackberries, vanilla, nutmeg, leather, and maybe some cherries.

My girlfriend gets Freesia on its nose. I don’t know what that smells like or looks like. Below are pictures of purple and white freesia, so try to imagine what that smells like.

Freesia

Purple and white freesia

Oh, I smell it now?!

I like the juicy body. It seems a a hair too thin for a cab, but I’m cool with it.

On the palate, I definitely get plums. A bit juicy. There are some bing cherries and black berries  in the background. I think I pick up the freesia, too. And it comes with a peppery finish.

You know what? This would go good with brie cheese. For sure.

This a good Cabernet Sauvignon. I say approaching 89 points, and it’s getting better the longer it’s open, which is now one hour. So let’s say 89 points.

However, it’s over priced at the sale price of $20. It shouldn’t be over $15.//


Leave a Reply

The Cave (Winner of The Bitter Oleander Press Library of Poetry Book Award for 2013.)

The Cave

Poems for an Empty Church

Poems for an Empty Church

The Oldest Stone in the World

The Oldest Stone in the Wolrd

Henri, Sophie, & The Hieratic Head of Ezra Pound: Poems Blasted from the Vortex

Henri, Sophie, & The Hieratic Head of Ezra Pound: Poems Blasted from the Vortex

Pre-Dew Poems

Pre-Dew Poems

Negative Time

Negative Time

After Malagueña

After Malagueña

Enter your email address to subscribe to The Line Break and receive email notifications of new posts.

Join 2,813 other followers

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Archives

The Line Break Tweets


