01
Sep
10

in pursuit of the juiciest wine: day forty-seven

Man, I gotta get to reading some poetry books. Right now it’s all work, Redactions: Poetry & Poetics, research, and some writing – poetry and this blog. But for now, the Californian Cabernet Sauvignon mini tour must go on.

Allons-y!

Souverain Cabernet Sauvignon 2006Tonight’s wine is Souverain Cabernet Sauvignon 2006 from Alexander Valley in Sonoma County, California.

I’ve heard good things about this wine, and the back label says, “black cherry and black plum fruit.” I like cherries and plums. Hm. I should start identifying what type of plum next time I taste plum. Whenever I taste plum, I always picture a black plum. I must expand my ways.

This one looks like it is aging well because the clear top part of the meniscus is very thin. The wine is ruby in color and 90% opaque.

Do I get bacon on the nose? I do get leather and dark cherries as well as juicy plums, but I don’t know what color. I think there’s a hint of white pepper and some currants, too.

I’m salivating. I’d better get to this now.

It’s big and has the body you’d expect from a Cabernet Sauvignon, as well as the dryness. It has a spicy finish, too. If I were blindfolded, I would guess this is a cab.

The cherries and plums are hard to come by because it is so, so dry. I think there are some blackberries, too. If you pay close attention, you might get anise and mint on the palate, but they are barely noticeable.

It’s loosening up as it opens, and I just got bing cherries.

This wine is solid. It is a Cabernet Sauvignon. Because it is loosening up and becoming less dry, I give it 91 points. Not that I have anything against dryness, but this was really dry for a while. It felt like my gums were made of fuzz.

Oh, and it’s only $14.

Next time, the wine that has spoiled me off my regular everyday wines – The Hall 2006, which I’ve written about twice and the 2005 once.//


0 Responses to “in pursuit of the juiciest wine: day forty-seven”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

The Cave (Winner of The Bitter Oleander Press Library of Poetry Book Award for 2013.)

The Cave

Poems for an Empty Church

Poems for an Empty Church

The Oldest Stone in the World

The Oldest Stone in the Wolrd

Henri, Sophie, & The Hieratic Head of Ezra Pound: Poems Blasted from the Vortex

Henri, Sophie, & The Hieratic Head of Ezra Pound: Poems Blasted from the Vortex

Pre-Dew Poems

Pre-Dew Poems

Negative Time

Negative Time

After Malagueña

After Malagueña

Enter your email address to subscribe to The Line Break and receive email notifications of new posts.

Join 2,813 other followers

September 2010
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Archives

The Line Break Tweets


