10
Sep
10

in pursuit of the juiciest wine: day fifty-two

Geyser Peak Block Collection Walking Tree Cabernet Sauvignon 2005The NFL season began yesterday with a game that seemed like it would be explosive, but it turned out to be okay. And my fantasy football teams started rather pathetically, too. But tonight, as part of the California Cabernet Sauvignon extended mini tour, my bottle of Geyser Peak Block Collection Walking Tree Cabernet Sauvignon 2005 from Alexander Valley opened with a loud pop. It popped like it was champagne, and the cork expanded to an abnormally large size at the bottom end. I don’t know what that means. I’ll have to look into that.

In the meanwhile, I just looked out my window. The sunset is beautiful. It’s the color of an Oregon Pinot Noir, like Erath. I held my glass of wine up to it, and it’s the same hue but several shades darker. The meniscus matches almost perfectly. This glass of wine complements the sky.

And now it’s going to complement me. Allons-y.

If the sunset had a smell, it would smell like this wine. Ah, pushed that one a bit but not a lot. I do like the smell, but it smells thin and not like a cab. Though I do pick up eucalyptus, which seems to be a common note with these Californian cabs. I also get subtle hint of mint and anise. But mostly I get juicy red berries.

It’s so smooth and cool. Cool because it’s been sitting on the window ledge on this cool and delightful evening.

The palate is hit with dark berries and dark cherries. And the body is bigger here than on the nose.

The finish is unexpectedly dry and a bit tart. A half-hour later, which is an hour since the big pop, and the finish is clean. It’s not tart or dry at all. Oh this wine took a good turn. I hope my fantasy football teams does too.

Alright. The Wine Enthusiast gave this 91 points and the Wine News gave it 89. one of these days I’m going to learn that formula for calculating the points. It’s like 4+4+1+2 or something like that. That’s two things I have to look into now.

Because of that turn, I’m leaning to 90 points, as well. (I really got stop doing this point thing since I only partially know what I’m doing. My point system is comparative.)

Anyway. Good wine. I got it on sale for $14, and I’d pay that price again.

As for that big pop, I think it translates into, “Let me out to mellow. I’m so fine.” Either that or it wants to be a Châteauneuf-du-Pop. (Oh my, this tasting ends . . . now.)//


Leave a Reply

The Cave (Winner of The Bitter Oleander Press Library of Poetry Book Award for 2013.)

The Cave

Poems for an Empty Church

Poems for an Empty Church

The Oldest Stone in the World

The Oldest Stone in the Wolrd

Henri, Sophie, & The Hieratic Head of Ezra Pound: Poems Blasted from the Vortex

Henri, Sophie, & The Hieratic Head of Ezra Pound: Poems Blasted from the Vortex

Pre-Dew Poems

Pre-Dew Poems

Negative Time

Negative Time

After Malagueña

After Malagueña

Enter your email address to subscribe to The Line Break and receive email notifications of new posts.

Join 2,736 other followers

September 2010
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Archives

The Line Break Tweets


