06
Dec
10

in pursuit of the juiciest wine: day seventy-one (A to Z Pinot Noir 2008)

I’ve got all this great wine on my rack. Yay. I’ve been saving up for my birthday weekend. Yay. And today is my birthday. Yay. I think I have a cold. Boo. I don’t know if I’ll be able to appreciate any wine. Boo. I think I wasn’t really able to taste those Toscanas the other day. Boo.

A to Z Pinot Noir 2008But it’s my birthday today, damn it, and I’m going to give it a go with The Wine Spectator’s #75 wine of 2010 the A to Z Wineworks Pinot Noir 2008 from Oregon and rated at 90 points.

The color is bright and alive. So light. I can see right through it. This will be refreshing from all the Cabs I’ve been drinking.

It’s nose is even bright and is infiltrated with pepper. It smells like Oregon terra firma.

I get some cherries and a hint of raspberries. Way back, I get a hint of cantaloupe, too.

The nose is filled with grins and pleasant sighs.

Oh, that’s delicious and pleasant and smooth. And juicy! A thin juiciness. A long finish. Mmm. It just lingers in prettiness with just a hint of tartness. But it’s so bright. There are blueberries in here, too, but mostly cherries. Bing cherries. Oh, it’s delightful.

And after a while, there is a hint of dryness. Like dust. Like dust from the paths they drive and walk on while carting the wines.

This is a terrific wine. It’s like 92 points terrific.

So why A to Z?

The 2008 A to Z Oregon Pinot Noir is blended from wines made from at least thirty different vineyards representing all of the Oregon AVAs that grow Pinot Noir. We take great care to craft one cuvée each vintage, creating a complex blend that embodies The Essence of Oregon.

(http://www.atozwineworks.com/documents/08PNTasteSheet.pdf)

And damn it, they have. Like I said, it tastes like Oregon, and Oregon makes the best Pinot Noirs.

And it’s organically grown, too. (http://www.atozwineworks.com/documents/08PNShelfTalker.pdf). So double bonus.

Plus, an awesome slogan: Aristocratic Wines at Democratic Prices. Triple Bonus.

This is good stuff. //


0 Responses to “in pursuit of the juiciest wine: day seventy-one (A to Z Pinot Noir 2008)”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

The Cave (Winner of The Bitter Oleander Press Library of Poetry Book Award for 2013.)

The Cave

Poems for an Empty Church

Poems for an Empty Church

The Oldest Stone in the World

The Oldest Stone in the Wolrd

Henri, Sophie, & The Hieratic Head of Ezra Pound: Poems Blasted from the Vortex

Henri, Sophie, & The Hieratic Head of Ezra Pound: Poems Blasted from the Vortex

Pre-Dew Poems

Pre-Dew Poems

Negative Time

Negative Time

After Malagueña

After Malagueña

Enter your email address to subscribe to The Line Break and receive email notifications of new posts.

Join 2,830 other followers

December 2010
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Archives

The Line Break Tweets


