10
Dec
10

in pursuit of the juiciest wine: day seventy-two (Château Beauchene Chateauneuf-du-Pape 2007)

Alright. It’s still my birthday week, so I’m celebrating. Right now I’m listening to Joe Cuba Bang! Bang! Push, Push, Push.

Joe Cuba Bang Bang Push Push Push

Château Beauchene Chateauneuf-du-Pape 2007 Grand Reserve

"Château Beauchene Chateauneuf-du-Pape 2007 Grand Reserve. This is the best picture you will find of it on the Internet.

The first song is dynamite. It’s getting me in the mood to drink this whole bottle of Château Beauchene Chateauneuf-du-Pape 2007 Grand Reserve.

Well, maybe not the whole bottle, but much of it. It is my birthday week still. The Friday of my birthday week. Oh Yeah.

We’re goin’ to a party,
So put your red dress on.
Ain’t nothin’ to fancy, baby,
So don’t you get to sharp.

Hey. Hey. Hey. Hey. Hey.

It’s in the park.
It’s getting dark.
It’s on the roof.
One hundred proof.
You’re looking good.
You’re looking fine.
No one can tell
You’re getting blind.

Hey. Oh Yeah. Hey. Oh Yeah.

One, two, three.
You’re looking good to me
(Yes, you’re cute.)
Four, five six.
I’d like to kiss your lips.
Seven, eight, nine.
Hey, girl you’re lookin’ fine.
Eight, nine, ten.
We’re gonna to do it again.

Hey. Oh Yeah. Hey Oh Yeah.

Oh, yeah? Oh, yeah.
Oh, yeah? Oh, yeah.
Oh, yeah? Oh, yeah.
Oh, yeah? Oh, yeah.

Hey. Go get it. Hey. Go get it.
Hey. Get it. Hey Get it.

It’s in the park.
It’s getting dark.
It’s on the roof.
One hundred proof.
You’re looking good.
You’re looking fine.
No one can tell
You’re getting blind.

Hey. We’re gonna get it.
Hey. Get it. Hey. Hey.

One more time.

It’s in the park.
It’s getting dark.
It’s on the roof.
One hundred proof.
You’re looking good.
You’re looking fine.
No one can tell
You’re getting blind.

Hey. Hey. Hey. Hey. Hey.

I think those lyrics are correct. If not, you can listen for your self. But before you do, get a drink and prepare to dance.

Now, that’s the meaning of life. And so is this wine.

¡Vamos!

It’s a dark, shiny ruby. It glimmers with vitality. It’s meniscus is miniscule, and I like miniscule menisci. Ay yi yi.

It’s nose is also brilliant, but dulled a bit with some earth,  tobacco, and leather. But it’s not dull. No. It’s still bright because of the raspberries and spice.

Hey. Hey. Sock it to me.

Okay.

This is the weirdest, craziest wine I’ve ever tasted. There are so many flavors all over the place. It’s dizzying. It starts really tangy. Then, did I get a cherry pie somewhere? (My girlfriend says a cherry-rhubarb pie.) There are a lot of sharp berries in here. This is delicious.

Where did I get his. Oh yeah. The liquor barn on Route 93 one hundred yards into New Hampshire when coming from Maine.

The finish is sweet and spicy and long and yummy.

Despite all I’ve said, it’s a well mannered wine. It’s so polite and at ease, but it’s not shy. It wanders all over my mouth. It introduces itself to  every part of my tongue and gums. It’s says, “Hi” in such a way that everything inside my mouth smiles, and so do I.

Damned good stuff. 92 points I say.

And the album is done. I listened to whole album while writing this, and a few songs a few times. I hope you enjoyed this as much as I did.//


0 Responses to “in pursuit of the juiciest wine: day seventy-two (Château Beauchene Chateauneuf-du-Pape 2007)”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

The Cave (Winner of The Bitter Oleander Press Library of Poetry Book Award for 2013.)

The Cave

Poems for an Empty Church

Poems for an Empty Church

The Oldest Stone in the World

The Oldest Stone in the Wolrd

Henri, Sophie, & The Hieratic Head of Ezra Pound: Poems Blasted from the Vortex

Henri, Sophie, & The Hieratic Head of Ezra Pound: Poems Blasted from the Vortex

Pre-Dew Poems

Pre-Dew Poems

Negative Time

Negative Time

After Malagueña

After Malagueña

Enter your email address to subscribe to The Line Break and receive email notifications of new posts.

Join 2,830 other followers

December 2010
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Archives

The Line Break Tweets


