30
Dec
10

in pursuit of the juiciest wine: day seventy-five (Monte Antico Toscana 2006)

The new years is almost here, and so is my newest collection of poems, The Oldest Stone in the World (Amsterdam Press). With a release date of 1-1-11, it will be the first book of the year. But that’s not what I want to write about. No.

Jimi Hendrix Newport 1969

Jimi Hendrix Newport 1969

I want to write about two things: Jimi Hendrix and Monte Antico Toscana 2006. I’ve been listening to Jimi again. I always knew he was good, but now I think I’m getting him. No, it’s not like an intellectual getting when you talk through your nose and say something like, “Mm, yez. I certainly do dig this fella’s music. Yez, bravo, young chap. Quite good. Quite good, indeed.” I’m actually just feeling him. His music feels good. I don’t think he’s playing the guitar. I think he’s just making sounds that sound good to him and everyone. I’m listening to him live in Newport June 22, 1969 – the first part of the All Star Jam. He’s exploring the songs he already made masterpieces. He’s making them new. What else can you expect from an artist. But there’s more than all of that. It’s his presence or the presence that surrounds him. There’s an ease around. A peacefulness and a playfulness. It’s a bit similar to joy. I could on, but I won’t get any closer to describing what I’m saying. Needless, Jimi is awesome, and I have always underrated him, and I had always rated him high.

Monte Antico Toscana 2006I have similar feelings about Monte Antico. I’ve been underrating this wonderful wine. I’ve always liked it. Always being less than a month. Since December 3. Even in the Ruffino Modus Toscana 2007 vs. Monte Antico Toscana 2006 battle, I knew it was good, but I underrated it. In fact, since that Toscana battle, where the Modus won, it’s not the Modus that I’ve been returning to. Nope. I’ve been returning to the Monte Antico Toscana 2006. And I’ve been returning to it often. Part of that, a minor part, is the $10 Mahan’s sales price. Man, this is an amazing wine for $10.

In the last words of “We Gotta Live Together – Feels So Good,” Jimi sings:

Let me drink that wine. Feel it. Feel it in my bones, baby. I feel so good.

He knows what’s up. He’s talking to me from the beyond.

I love the jammy nose of the Monte Antico Toscana 2006, on the palate it has heavenly, juicy fruits, berries, and plums, and it finishes with caramel. It’s bright and alive. The Monte Antico Toscana 2006 pairs well with many foods.

As Jimi says at the beginning of the 1970 Randall’s Island concert:

You know the same old rap. Forget about yesterday and forget about tomorrow. We’re just gonna have fun tonight, right? Let’s just get it on tonight.

I think that sums up the Jimi Hendrix presence for me and what I’m going to do tonight with this wine.//


2 Responses to “in pursuit of the juiciest wine: day seventy-five (Monte Antico Toscana 2006)”


  1. 1 Amy
    December 30, 2010 at 9:23 pm

    Sounds like a nice plan! I like your link between the two. I never personally connect Hendrix with fine wine, but hey! I do now!

    Congrats on your book!

    Amy


Leave a Reply

The Cave (Winner of The Bitter Oleander Press Library of Poetry Book Award for 2013.)

The Cave

Poems for an Empty Church

Poems for an Empty Church

The Oldest Stone in the World

The Oldest Stone in the Wolrd

Henri, Sophie, & The Hieratic Head of Ezra Pound: Poems Blasted from the Vortex

Henri, Sophie, & The Hieratic Head of Ezra Pound: Poems Blasted from the Vortex

Pre-Dew Poems

Pre-Dew Poems

Negative Time

Negative Time

After Malagueña

After Malagueña

Enter your email address to subscribe to The Line Break and receive email notifications of new posts.

Join 2,813 other followers

December 2010
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Archives

The Line Break Tweets


