31
Dec
10

in pursuit of the juiciest wine: day seventy-six (Geyser Peak Walking Tree Cabernet Sauvignon 2005)

Geyser Peak Block Collection Walking Tree Cabernet Sauvignon 2005It’s about three-and-a-half hours until my fifth collection of poems, The Oldest Stone in the World, is released from Amsterdam Press. While I wait, I’ll be drinking the Geyser Peak Block Collection Walking Tree Cabernet Sauvignon 2005, which last night when I opened it was horrible. I mean, the nose was good and it tasted pretty good on the palate, but the finish, ug, it destroyed everything. This seems odd to me because the last time I had this I thought it was damned good. Sometimes a wine is better the next day, and that’s what I’m hoping for. Wines are never good the third day. Yuck.

The nose is still good. It’s big and dark with dark currants and some cherries. On the palate it’s pleasant, but the finish is still tart, but better than yesterday. It’s also dry on the finish, which is fine. I think you have to acclimate yourself to this wine because the tartness is going away with each sip.

The palate has cassis or anise, too, which is probably what is exploding on the finish.

I think this might be a bad bottle. I liked it before. Also, because I was wondering if other people liked it, I did some research, and other people liked it, too. The Wine Enthusiast gave it 91 points.

I think this is a bad bottle, especially when you consider the other reviews and my previous review here.

Perhaps it’s time to open another bottle.

Happy new year to all of you!//


0 Responses to “in pursuit of the juiciest wine: day seventy-six (Geyser Peak Walking Tree Cabernet Sauvignon 2005)”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

The Cave (Winner of The Bitter Oleander Press Library of Poetry Book Award for 2013.)

The Cave

Poems for an Empty Church

Poems for an Empty Church

The Oldest Stone in the World

The Oldest Stone in the Wolrd

Henri, Sophie, & The Hieratic Head of Ezra Pound: Poems Blasted from the Vortex

Henri, Sophie, & The Hieratic Head of Ezra Pound: Poems Blasted from the Vortex

Pre-Dew Poems

Pre-Dew Poems

Negative Time

Negative Time

After Malagueña

After Malagueña

Enter your email address to subscribe to The Line Break and receive email notifications of new posts.

Join 2,813 other followers

December 2010
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Archives

The Line Break Tweets


