06
Jan
11

in pursuit of the juiciest wine: day seventy-seven (Cline Ancient Vines 2007)

I just received in the mail The White Stripes Get Behind Me Satan.

The White Stripes Get Behind Me Satan

Yes, I’m behind the times, but at least I found some good music. It’s on my iPod, and I’m listening to it now. And this will be the music for tonight’s tasting. (That’s a great cover by the way.)

I have three wines to choose from: Villa Antinori Toscana 2006, Sherwood Estate Pinot Noir 2009 (from the land of awesome New World Sauvignon Blanc – Marlborough, New Zealand), and Cline Ancient Vines Carignane 2007. Since I recently decided that I want to try at least 100 different grape varieties, I’m going with the Cline Ancient Vines Carignane 2007. I’ve never had Carignane, which according to the back of the bottle is pronounced karen yawn.

Cline Ancient Vines Carignane 2007

One of these days I’ll make a list of all the grapes I want to try or have tried. To make it fair, I’ll list a bottle of what I had. For instance, for Cabernet Sauvignon, I’ll list Hall Cabernet Sauvignon 2006. If I can’t remember a bottle for grape, like Mourvèdre, I’ll just find another bottle of Mourvèdre to try.

So. Tonight. Cline Ancient Vines Carignane 2007. I’ve had their Zinfandel, and if I remember correctly, it was yum.

There’s a little cork in it because the cork broke. Sigh. I tried to swirl the cork to the side of the glass. Some of it took, and I can see there’s a lot of alcohol in here. The label say 15.0%. The meniscus is short and wavy, probably from the wine sliding down the glass. And I suppose the wine is dark ruby in color, but the cork distracts.

The nose smells like cut wet grass mixed with mint, tarragon, anise, and tobacco. It almost smells like a wimpy Cab Franc.

This wine is very unique to me. But first, the finish is like the nose but a bit more tart. It’s giving me goosebumps. It’s got a medium body, too. If you pay attention, you can pick up some cherries. They’re in there playing hide-and-seek. Peek-a-boo. I found you. This wine has layers. Ahhhhhh. I can’t believe I just wrote that, but it does. It’s like the first impression is dark and anise-y, but then these cherries and plums poke up in the periphery. It’s kinda like seeing a ghost. You can never see a ghost in front of you. It’s always out of the corner of your eye. And if you do see a ghost in front of you, it’s either something from a Dickens’ story or it’s a poltergeist. Either way, you’d better run or call and get help.

Poltergeist Lady

Zelda Rubinstein as Tangina Barrons

And of course, my browser crashed as I was trying to put in the image of the Poltergeist Lady. Nice.

[Save Draft]

Now, I’m completely distracted.

Oh, yes. When I sip this I think of this wonderful pasta dish at Quinns in Spokane, WA. Quinns no longer exists, but the memories do. They had this amazing spicy, shrimp pasta dish. It was sooo amazing. It satisfied every part of my body and soul. I could eat it every day for the rest of my life. This wine would go real good with that. It would go even better with a spicy seafood stew like, Cioppino. Oh, Quinns had a wonderful Cioppino. Mmmm.

Unfortunately, all I have is some chicken and shrimp chow mein I made the other night. This could go good with that. We shall see.

This wine is so bizarre to me. I don’t even now how to rate it. Maybe I’ll rate it with a song. This wine is like “Little Ghost.”

I can see The White Stripes drinking this wine. Well, the ghost of The White Stripes. Perhaps The Dead Weather.//


0 Responses to “in pursuit of the juiciest wine: day seventy-seven (Cline Ancient Vines 2007)”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

The Cave (Winner of The Bitter Oleander Press Library of Poetry Book Award for 2013.)

The Cave

Poems for an Empty Church

Poems for an Empty Church

The Oldest Stone in the World

The Oldest Stone in the Wolrd

Henri, Sophie, & The Hieratic Head of Ezra Pound: Poems Blasted from the Vortex

Henri, Sophie, & The Hieratic Head of Ezra Pound: Poems Blasted from the Vortex

Pre-Dew Poems

Pre-Dew Poems

Negative Time

Negative Time

After Malagueña

After Malagueña

Enter your email address to subscribe to The Line Break and receive email notifications of new posts.

Join 2,736 other followers

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Archives

The Line Break Tweets


