04
Mar
11

in pursuit of the juiciest wine: day eighty-seven (Silver Palm Cabernet Sauvignon 2007)

Thom Caraway, poet and poetry publisher, has announced that today is Beastie Boy’s Day. It was a good decision. And so tonight I will celebrate this occasion with a drink. However, I won’t be  drinking Night Train or drinkin’ OE with Johnny Ryall since I can’t make it to Brooklyn. I’m in Upstate where you ” get your head together” and “Thunderbird is the word and you’re light as a feather.”

Except today the word is Silver Palm Cabernet Sauvignon 2007. It will make me “charming and dashing,” I hope, as I get as drunk as “the drunk called Otis with his five o’ clock shadow.”

Man, there are so many good songs on Paul’s Boutique. It’s one of the all-time great albums. Everyone should own it.

To the wine, yo.

When I’m embarrassed, my “face turns red as your glass of wine”, and this glass of wine is the same but a darker shade.

It smells of the ocean to me. Ocean and wind. But not the funky, dead-fish wind. The cool breeze smell. A juicy breeze. A wind with mist so I can see “the wind in my eyes.”

This cab’s got strawberries and blackberries and something green. It’s got earth and a coffee bean.

Oh, what an interesting taste. It’s like melon and something grape. It’s silky, it’s smooth, it has bit of cassis.  It has linger on the finish of a jellybean. It tastes like Easter without the ham. It’s like a chocolate egg with just a hint of cream.

Cadbury Eggs

But don’t be deceived. It’s ain’t that sweet. It’s as dry as the street after a windstorm and a day of heat.

I’m actually liking this wine. It’s a little thin for a cab, but I’m liking it. It’s making me happy. I’m happy because I got wine, my girlfriend, and the Beastie Boys. “I mean wine and women and song and such.”

By now, “I’m just chillin’ like Bob Dylan.”

I'm just chillin' like Bob Dylan

It’s a good wine. I give it a thumb’s up. And for $14 I’ll give it two. Get a block of sharp cheddar cheese, and you’ll agree.

I’m done. I’m out.  “I’m a writer a poet a genius I know it.” “My mind is kinda rhymin’ and I think I oughta think. I’m rockin all the rhymes and I’ll have another drink.”

//


0 Responses to “in pursuit of the juiciest wine: day eighty-seven (Silver Palm Cabernet Sauvignon 2007)”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

The Cave (Winner of The Bitter Oleander Press Library of Poetry Book Award for 2013.)

The Cave

Poems for an Empty Church

Poems for an Empty Church

The Oldest Stone in the World

The Oldest Stone in the Wolrd

Henri, Sophie, & The Hieratic Head of Ezra Pound: Poems Blasted from the Vortex

Henri, Sophie, & The Hieratic Head of Ezra Pound: Poems Blasted from the Vortex

Pre-Dew Poems

Pre-Dew Poems

Negative Time

Negative Time

After Malagueña

After Malagueña

Enter your email address to subscribe to The Line Break and receive email notifications of new posts.

Join 2,813 other followers

March 2011
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Archives

The Line Break Tweets


