09
Jul
11

Behance.net and my cover and ad designs

I recently opened an account at Behance.net (http://www.behance.net/thelinebreak) to share some of my book and journal cover designs and ads and posters that I create. This site is for people who do such things plus typographers and other creative individuals.

Behance.net Logo

At the same time, I’ve been preparing Redactions: Poetry & Poetics issue 14 for publication, and I’ve made a few ads for the journal. At Behance.net, I posted those ads and wrote a little story about each one. I like this. I like being able to share this kind of information and talking about it. I wish I was better at it. I really want to and should take some nighttime graphic design courses somewhere. I’m self-taught, and I’ve gone as far as I can.

So if you want to learn more about some of cover designs and ad designs, stop by http://www.behance.net/thelinebreak every now and then.

Here’s a taste of my recent addition.

Pure Elysium Ad

As you recall, I also do layout and Design for Palettes & Quills Press. Their most recent  book is Michael Meyerhofer’s Pure Elysium (http://amzn.to/ooazVu). Since I’m also responsible for advertising and marketing, in part, I needed to make two ads. One for the tremendous website VerseDaily.com. (It’s like an online anthology of the best poems that appear in the most recent poetry journals and books.) The size restrictions for this are small – 0.5″ x 0.333″. At first I tried to make this ad at that size, but, man, that wasn’t working. So I made the ad at 5″ x 3.33″ and then shrunk it down. That worked fine.

Pure Elysium on Verse Daily
Then I had to make a bigger one, 4.5″ x 8″, for Redactions: Poetry & Poetics issue 14. What I like about this ad is that there is the perfect amount of space in the upper left-hand corner for the image of the book cover. It’s not really covering up anything. And you can still see the main action of the cover art. It was also a good way to get larger viewing of the cover, despite it being grayscale, though I like the effects.

The cover art by Peter Davis is titled “The People Make Love.”

Pure Elysium for RedactionsDon’t forget to visit: http://www.behance.net/thelinebreak.//


2 Responses to “Behance.net and my cover and ad designs”


  1. June 9, 2013 at 9:31 pm

    Great beat ! I wish to apprentice whilst you amend your site,
    how can i subscribe for a blog site? The account aided me a appropriate deal.
    I were a little bit acquainted of this your broadcast offered vivid clear concept

  2. September 27, 2013 at 9:46 pm

    Weight Watchers’ growth will be compromised. While following
    the muscle building capabilities of the other hardgainer workouts out
    there to help, you can’t keep your balance, or because of whatever other reason that’s
    hindering you. The job of the central nervous system to relax, giving the
    benefits of being a professional. Iron is low, transferrin levels will
    increase. Mental stress also leads to headaches, shoulder pain, and more!
    Also important for healthy gums, no2 max reviews bones, cartilage, skin, and bones.
    When no2 max reviews it comes to building muscle: good genes.


Leave a Reply

The Cave (Winner of The Bitter Oleander Press Library of Poetry Book Award for 2013.)

The Cave

Poems for an Empty Church

Poems for an Empty Church

The Oldest Stone in the World

The Oldest Stone in the Wolrd

Henri, Sophie, & The Hieratic Head of Ezra Pound: Poems Blasted from the Vortex

Henri, Sophie, & The Hieratic Head of Ezra Pound: Poems Blasted from the Vortex

Pre-Dew Poems

Pre-Dew Poems

Negative Time

Negative Time

After Malagueña

After Malagueña

Enter your email address to subscribe to The Line Break and receive email notifications of new posts.

Join 2,736 other followers

July 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Archives

The Line Break Tweets


